Draft-Kal-Difference between Disabling / Deleting an Asset

Draft-Kal-Difference between Disabling / Deleting an Asset

Disabling an asset is used to temporarily disable collection of an asset's data on the portal.


Deletion of an asset is intended for deletion of an asset permanently.

Procedure for deletion of an asset calls for deletion of osquery agent on the endpoint prior to deletion of the corresponding asset from the portal. If osquery agent was not deleted on the asset (even after deletion of asset from the portal) if the osquery agent is restarted on endpoint, it would result in re-registration of endpoint on the portal.